Discover the World of Gluten Free Beers

December 16, 2016

Gluten free has typically meant that beer was no longer an option. With the selection expanding there are now many more options for those who can't handle gluten.

beerdrinker2 webExplore Gluten-Free Beers With Us

Gluten-free beer is beer, whether it is an ale or a lager style, that is made from ingredients that do not contain glycoproteinsgluten). People who have a gluten intolerance (including celiacs and dermatitis herpetiformis sufferers) have a reaction to certain proteins in the grains commonly used to make beer, barley and wheat, and so for them to be able to enjoy a pint, the product must be gluten-free. It is also important to note that many people today are also choosing to lead a gluten-free lifestyle and so Brew Masters from around the world are working hard to create styles that will ensure that everyone can enjoy a great tasting beer whenever they want to.

Luckily, there are many beers to choose from these days, and the number continues to grow.

Brands of Gluten-Free Beer
Currently, you can find a good selection of gluten-free beers at our stores, including beers from New Grist, Green’s Gluten- Free Beers, La Messagère, Mongozo, Lakefront, Estrella and Bards.

Please note that not all our stores will carry the exact same selection, so please call ahead to your favourite store to ensure the product is available for you when you arrive.

beerdrinker3 webWhat are Gluten-Free Beers Made of?
So, what do all these beers all have in common? Simple; they don’t contain gluten. Which means they're either brewed with malted grains that don’t contain traces of gluten, such as buckwheat, sorghum or rice. (Note: buckwheat is a member of the rhubarb family, and not related to wheat at all) or they’re made with another fermentable sugar, such as honey, candy sugar or pear juice.

Understanding Gluten-Free Labelling
It is important to know that around the world standards of "gluten-free" vary. For example, in the United Kingdom, European Union, Canada and the U.S. United States a beer with less than 20 parts per million gluten (20ppm) is "gluten-free", while in Australia only beers with no detectable gluten can be described as gluten free. The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness recommends 10 ppm, but it is important to keep in mind that beer with less than 20ppm will add up if you drink more than one.

Low- Gluten Beers
Low gluten beers are different and may not be safe for celiacs or people with strong intolerances. Some brewers argue that using a small amount of barley is safe, saying that the barley proteins are converted into safe amino acids when the beer is made, but this is still a debatable topic and has not been agreed upon in the medical world. What isn’t clear, is that there remains an amount of peptides which may be toxic to celiacs, so if gluten is a health concern for you then, it is always recommended that you do your own research on the style of beer you would like to enjoy and feel comfortable with your choice to consume it.

Share:

Comments

comments powered by Disqus

Latest Beer Related Stories

Wine, Spirits, Beer of British Columbia

Wine, Spirits, Beer of British Columbia

This week, Canadians will celebrate the 150th anniversary of our dominion formation, when the country established its confederation in 1867.  

Learn More

B.C. & North

B.C. & North

It's known as Canada's left coast and if you've spent any time out there you'll know B.C. has a whole different vibe.

Learn More

Brewing on the West Coast

Brewing on the West Coast

 Canadians will be celebrating our great nation’s sesquicentennial as we mark 150 years of Confederation.

Learn More